Home

Latest entry for West Heights Logos Newsletter column, cross posted to Campus Ministry.

Campus Ministry @ WSU Official Blog

In his book Blue like Jazz, author Donald Miller writes, “I never liked Jazz music because Jazz music doesn’t resolve.” Right off, I can tell Miller and I are coming from different worlds, because I have long loved Jazz – precisely because it doesn’t resolve. It embraces chaos, creativity, structure and freedom, emotion and technical skill. But I get why others don’t enjoy it as much. There are times when even I find there are just “too many notes.”

Miller, however, continues “But I was outside the Bagdad Theater in Portland one night when I saw a man playing the saxophone. I stood there for fifteen minutes, and he never opened his eyes. After that I liked Jazz music. Sometimes you have to watch somebody love something before you can love it yourself. Its as if they are showing you the way.”

I think Pentecost is kind of like that…

View original post 190 more words

Share your thoughts!

